Repeat Offender – Where to Stay in Bangkok/Outfit Post

After a year long absence from Thailand (where I used to live) I thought it was time to make an appearance. I’m currently going through the stage of asking myself the question: do I miss Thailand? It’s a hard question to answer and thought it would be easier to answer if I was in the actual country. I do miss it but I also don’t. It’s the same with here,  I like Hong Kong and there are things I don’t like about it, but maybe that’s another blog post altogether.

I went with my bf (who took all the pics of me below thank you hunny) to Bangkok for 4 days which turned out to be super short, I couldn’t meet up with all my old friends but was nice to be able to meet up with some.

Hollister Romper - MyFashionStage.com

Exploring the hotel that had lots of unique retro devices. Check out more of my looks on MyFashionStage.com

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo, a newly opened hotel this year that decorates it’s interior with retro nostalgia. I found it quirky and fun but was a little confused about the decor in the beginning.

Hotel Indigo Lobby

A little wander to wonder

Robot in Hotel Indigo lobby

Hello robot 🙂

Hotel Indigo lobby wearing Hollister Romper

Ready to explore my old haunts with my trusty (well kinda) backpack

Playing with the radio at Hotel Indigo Bangkok wearing Hollister Romper

Playing with the radio

IMG_3224

 

Being a tourist in a city you’ve lived in before definitely feels weird. I mean what do you? What do you see? For me it was trip back into my old life with some new surprises. The city has definitely grown up a bit since I’ve been gone.

 

IMG_3226

I admit it, I’m a repeat offender. I had worn this very same romper on a trip around HK with my friends the week before BUT that doesn’t mean I’ll wear it exactly the same. Instead of wearing it with a long grey hoody and converse I decided to match it with a plaid shirt and my fave sandals from Zalora. I also wore a backpack which I got from my Marks & Spencer’s makeover. The backpack is very handy for putting my camera, wallet, makeup and any other bits and bobs needed.

Since it was not super hot in Thailand that week, I was able to get away with a plaid shirt. This is super handy especially when you go from outdoor to indoor where the A/C is on full blast. Outdoor can simply roll up the sleeves and indoor roll ’em done or button up if it’s super cold.

 

 

 

Indigo Hotel - Bathtub Bangkok

The room came with a little company, a family of ducks 🙂

Bed Indigo Hotel - Bangkok

The most comfortable bed to snooze in, the pillows were like marshmallow

20150728_133610_Richtone(HDR)

Menu - Bar - Indigo Hotel Bangkok

What’s on the menu

Som tam at Central Embassy

First day back in the city need that Som Tam! – Foodcourt at Central Embassy – Total meal set us back around 600 baht but everything was delicious and a lot of food!

Dean & Deluca Ploenchit Bangkok

No walk down Ploenchit is complete without a Dean & Deluca drink in hand

Hallway Indigo Hotel

Down the hallway at Indigo Hotel

20150729_173517_Richtone(HDR)

Bubble Bath at Indigo Hotel Bangkok

End of a hard day running round town, a bath with these little guys. The bathtub was amazing and great for a bubble bath 🙂

 

All in all my stay at Hotel Indigo was great. There was a little confusion about the definition of what an Intercontinental Breakfast included. Somehow instead of including the intercontinental breakfast, one savoury dish of choice and one sweet dish of choice we ended up with two sweet dishes and one savoury. At checkout we explained to the staff that the menu wasn’t clear and ended up with not exactly what we ordered, they were nice enough to take the breakfast off our bill and improve their menu description.

Indigo Breakfast at Indigo Hotel Bangkok

Not so Intercontinental Breakfast but hey two pancakes!

Would I recommend it? Yes I would, it’s in a really convenient location and the staff were really helpful. I know a new hotel always has it’s hiccups in it’s first few months but really overall impressed.

Stayed tuned for my next post about what I saw and did in Bangkok. Again the trip was super short so I think I can cover it in one more post. Have you visited a town you use to live in? Have you been a tourist in your own city? Share with me what you feel is good about revisiting old place or the bad :).

Check out more of my outfit pics on MyFashionStage.com

Romper – Hollister

Plaid shirt – H&M – SOLD OUT similar here

Backpack  – Marks & Spencers

Shoes – EDGE – SOLD OUT – Zalora

New to Zalora.com.hk? Get  a 15% discount with my code: BAPQW7N

 

 

3 thoughts on “Repeat Offender – Where to Stay in Bangkok/Outfit Post

Leave a Reply

