Not What You Would Expect from Marks and Spencers

Hello peeps! It’s been a gloomy past couple of days in Hong Kong, time to up the ante on vitamin C as change of weather means falling ill, oh no. Time to invest in some oranges.

To add a little sunshine into my life I received an email from Marks and Spencer the other day telling me I’d won a makeover with M&S and the fabulously stylish Sabrina Sikora! YAY!

It was truly an amazing experience to have someone style you. Often we get stuck in our own ways when it comes to clothes shopping. It’s a great opportunity to get an insight of what another person thinks looks good on you. You often overlook an item of clothing you wouldn’t have even considered picking up yourself while shopping.

In for a treat with goodies from M&S

In for a treat with goodies from M&S

When I think of M&S I think about the days when I use to live in the UK, I think about the school days. For me Marks and Spencer brings to mind great food and underwear. I also remember picking out items for my school uniform back in the day. But I know in recent years M&S have shaken up their image a little with introducing Limited Edition items and the line Indigo Collection. So I was super excited to see what they had in store (pardon the pun).

When I first entered the giveaway I didn’t think I’d even have a chance of getting picked, I entered in for fun and had forgotten about it. When I received an email and then a phone call from one of the lovely people at M&S (hello Carol!) it really was an amazing surprise.

Indigo Denim Jacket by Marks and Spencer

Indigo Denim Jacket by Marks and Spencer

The newly opened store at Time Square (Causeway Bay) was where we had to go for our makeover. I then found the amazing Sabrina our stylist of the day, the wonderfully talented Anael (I have worked with both in a past, always great to see familiar faces) and a new face for me the photographer for the day Michelle Proctor.

Before the makeover - In Black and White clothing

Before the makeover – In Black and White clothing

When I was asked what I usually wear I admitted my go-to outfits are usually of the black, white and grey variety. I wasn’t the only one to give this monochrome answer. A few of the other makeover-ees (this should be a word) also replied black and white are the usual colours they chose for their wardrobe choices.

My stylist Sabrina decided that I was good fit for the long flower patterned jumpsuit. My first reaction was “this is something I would never pick out for myself”. About to protest I decided I’d give it a go, I knew if I had chosen something from the rack myself it would defeat the object of a makeover.

Yellow flower patterned jumpsuit

Yellow flower patterned jumpsuit – I had been looking for jumpsuit but this very different from my usual choices.

Pattern up close

After I tried on the outfit I felt differently about it, hey I might be able to pull this off! It was then onto the makeup chair with Anael.

Makeup by Anael Darmon

Makeup by Anael Darmon

Didn't get a clear shot of my stylist for the day, she's the super tall one holding the belt.

Didn’t get a clear shot of my stylist for the day, she’s the super tall one holding the belt.

 

The lovely Anael who styled my hair and did my makeup

The lovely Anael who styled my hair and did my makeup

Anael decided that a fish tail plait, pink/red lipstick and a little bronzer would be my look for today. It’s great to ask makeup artists what products they use and what they recommend as they use them pretty much everyday on a variety of different people.

A Sneak Peek of the Outfit - Marks and Spencer Makeover

A Sneak Peek of the Outfit – Marks and Spencer Makeover

A Sneak Peek of the Outfit - Marks and Spencer Makeover

Jumping for jumpsuits – Marks and Spencer Makeover

Bags, bags, bags - M&S Bag Selection

Bags, bags, bags – M&S Bag Selection

It was then on to have our photos taken with our photographer Michelle. She had a great eye for choosing spots in the store to get our photos done.

Photoshoot time with Michelle Proctor

Photoshoot time

 

Michelle Proctor - Photographer

Michelle Proctor – Photographer

 

So here’s how it turned out:

Makeover by Sabrina Sikora, Anael Darmon and photo by Michelle Proctor

Makeover by Sabrina Sikora, make up by Anael Darmon and photo by Michelle Proctor

 

I can resist everything except temptation - Oscar Wilde

I can resist everything except temptation – Oscar Wilde

 

I really feel Marks and Spencer has changed quite a bit from what I remember. Even the aesthetic of the store is more interesting. I love the little touches of display items and even wall decor that they’ve introduced.

 

Typewriter in the M&S store Time Square

Typewriter in the M&S store Time Square

 

M&S shopping bag full of goodies.

Each makeover participant got to take home their outfit so the lovely new jumpsuit and I went home together.

I don’t think I can look at M&S the same way again after this magical experience. A brand that cannot get any more British. Has this experience changed my opinion of Marks and Spencer? Well not entirely, I still feel their number 1 assets are food and lingerie (they do make a good bra and biscuit). But I do feel they’re new ranges have opened my eyes to their fashion range.

Shop my makeover look:

 

Denim Jacket – Indigo Collection

Straw Fedora Hat – Indigo Collection

Tassel Necklace (not the same but similar)

Aztec Print Across Body Bag

 

Mules (similar but the not same)

 

Not available on the M&S website but check in store

Help me win! It would really mean the world for me if you guys could take a second to “like” the photo below to help me win the Marks and Spencer makeover!

4 thoughts on “Not What You Would Expect from Marks and Spencers

Leave a Reply

