Exploring Beauty Products in HK – Beauty Haul Hong Kong Style!

Bit of change since my last post, I moved to HONG KONG! An exciting new start. While waiting for my new job to start I had the chance to arrange some model shoots and explore the beauty stores that HK has to offer. Is HK a new contender for beauty haul shopping? On my travels around town I have come across a variety of different beauty stores and here are to name a few:

Sasa

Quite similar to the likes of Bonjour, Sasa has everything to offer from fake lashes to trial size versions of top brands such as Shiseido and Biotherm. A sea of amazing beauty products from all over the world. I had more of a shopping spree in Sasa than I did Bonjour, not sure why, maybe it was the shop layout? Sasa the one I went to in Causeaway Bay had two large floors. I was after some makeup brushes and eyeliner but of course came out with more than that. It’s very easy to get carried away. In total I spent maybe $150 Hong Kong dollars, which wasn’t bad as I was debating between spending $100 alone on makeup brushes, which I later regretted as the brush I bought were really cheaply made. Always invest in high quality brushes!

Sasa Hong Kong

The very pink and girlie realm of Sasa

Below you can see my (bad investment) brushes, eye masks, under-eye jelly eye mask for under eye bags (only $5!), Cyber Colors eye liner (Around $80) and Neutrogena pink grapefruit facial scrub (bought from Bonjour for $15).

2014-04-07_23.41.57

Beauty Haul from Sasa and Bonjour Around $150 HKD

Would totally recommend eye masks from the Taiwanese company BeautyDiary which you can actually buy in any beauty store in Hong Kong not just Sasa. I have bought them again recently in Mannings. I discovered this brand while in Taipei early this year and bought 2 large boxes of their facial masks and just finishing them up. But the ones I discovered in HK are super cool because they are specially for the eye area and make you look like a super hero! (See pic below).

Look like super hero AND treat your eyes - Beauty Diary Eye Mask

Look like super hero AND treat your eyes – Beauty Diary Eye Mask

Bonjour

Wasn’t completely impressed with Bonjour although quite similar to Sasa. Maybe it was the store layout? The one I visited in Causeaway Bay was tiny and had people elbowing me to squeeze past. I only bought my usual Neutrogena pink grapefruit facial scrub. The staff there were quite helpful but were trying to talk me out of buying a tea tree facial wash. I didn’t purchase it but felt I knew my skin better than they did.

Mannings

I have a Mannings right opposite where I live which makes things very convenient in case I need something urgently. However, I find it quite expensive. This is the place where I would most likely buy my shampoo and hair products. However, the one close by me has a very small selection and often works out more expensive. My more preferred Mannings it a couple of roads away closer to the MTR. Do I sound picky? Well the store is larger and found a few products such as facial marks and face washes I needed. I say shop around different branches as some carry more ranges than others. If you’ve got little time in HK you could easily miss out this store as it’s nothing special. However, if you stumble apon a Mannings Plus and you love Boots products then you’ve struck gold! Boots is missing from HK and I am really missing it. Mannings Plus has small collection of products from the Boots own brand range which I quite like. I always buy makeup removal wipes in cucumber from Boots as I find they do the best job of removing my makeup without leaving this weird oiliness other brands have (ew).

 

Watsons

I’m not always a fan of Watsons especially when I was in Thailand I always shopped at Boots, but that might be my UK bias talking there 😉 Watson does however come up with the goods when Boots doesn’t, it was my fall back store. However, in HK there are no Boots, surprised? I know I am as I think Boots does such an awesome job as a health, wellness, beauty and anything else store. I use to do my christmas shopping there as they always had a good deal. Watsons is similar to Superdrug in the UK (actually owned by the same company) but I would say it’s a good place for cheaper products but not high quality in some cases. Watsons got a bad rep from me but HK might prove differently, more exploring to do.

Colourmix

This store is rather new to me, I’ve never been in a Colourmix until recently when running round Taikoo trying to find a nail buffer/file. Aha! Found one! After my happy moment after experiencing weird looks in Mannings Plus when I asked about nail clippers or nail files, they had none of that which left me a bit dumbfounded. Mannings Plus? Plus what? But Colourmix was right up my alley, a playground of exciting products from Japan, Korea and US. I picked myself up a nail buffer by The FACE SHOP a Korean brand which also has some good face masks and clear nail polish was a bit disapointing. But yet again always invest in the more expensive brand, the clear nail polish after I applied two coats, dried in 60 seconds (as promised by the label) but began to peel off! I have to explore Colourmix store again to give it a better chance.

If you’re on a tight schedule in HK for your next trip my picks are Sasa and Colourmix as it’s something different from what you’d find in the US or Europe. If you have time, check out Bonjour as well as they carry some products other stores don’t.

Been in Hong Kong? Think theres a beauty store I should really visit? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

